Jam Cakes

Jam Cakes

image
My son wanted to bake something with me the other day, so I needed a quick and easy recipe but I also wanted to try something different to the usual fairy cakes we like to bake.
When looking through my trusty, good old Be-Ro book I came across this method and we gave it a try.

image
Ingredients:
225 g (8 oz) self raising flour
Pinch of salt
100 g (4oz) margarine (you could use half lard)
50 g (2 oz) Caster sugar + extra for dredging
1 medium egg, beaten
3 tbsp milk (you may not need it)
Jam

This recipe makes a dozen cakes

1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease a baking tray.

2. Mix flour & salt together. Rub in the fat then stir in the sugar.

3. Mix to a stiff dough with the beaten egg & milk if required.

4. Divide the dough in half and roll both out thinly to the same size rectangle.

5. Place one piece on the baking tray, spread all over with jam.

6. Place the other piece on top and pinch the edges together. Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown.

7. When cool, cut into triangles or squares and sprinkle with Caster sugar.

image
The kids are off school next week so I won’t be able to do my volunteering job and it’s also my half term from my studies too so this means I will have more time for baking and blogging about it πŸ€—
Ttfn sweeties
🍬

2 thoughts on “Jam Cakes

Leave a Reply

